Project 52 / Self-Portrait Challenge

How I Sustain

I recently listened to an amazing podcast on resiliency. Brené Brown is a PhD research professor who has studied vulnerability, courage, worthiness, and shame in human behavior for a decade. One of her main messages is that it is brave to be vulnerable.

If you’ve read my blog for a while, you know that I’m a strong believer in selfies. I know it’s a contentious point. In fact, as I’m writing this, there is a news program playing in the background bashing selfies – as if the act of taking a picture of yourself threatens the morality of our culture. I see the same thing on both sides of media. NPR and Fox News agree: selfies are making us selfish.

And I fully disagree with every fabric of my being.

I get it: it’s a cultural difference among generations. Young people have grown up with access…

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

