Celebrate the moments in between

Every other Wednesday is craft night at Ashley’s house. It was fate that brought us together. Well, sort of. More like: Ashley posted on our city-wide moms group and I replied. But it’s been magical from the start and I love what spending time with her has done to inspire me (not to mention a great friendship!).

So when Ashley mentioned she was thinking of starting an Etsy shop last week (because – why not?), I couldn’t get the idea out of my mind. I started wondering – what would it be like? what would I do? what can I offer that hasn’t been done yet?

And then it hit me. And I have been on creative-overload ever since.

I love scrapbooking. Not for the satisfaction of perfectly placed photo layered with special elements on a Pinterest-worthy page (though traditional scrapbook pages are beautiful), but for the opportunity to reflect on happy memories and the people, places, and things that you love. But before I discovered what has come to be an incredibly creative online community of memory keepers, I approached memory keeping with a film-centric mind set: where photos are for special occasions, mostly vacations, and occasionally for holidays or special life events. I snubbed Facebook friends who over-shared. I resisted purchasing a smart phone. I had ideas about how things were supposed to be recorded. And to think that I am the self-prounounced memory keeper of the family. What was I thinking?!

I now see things differently. I love documenting little things: special meals my husband makes, a well-deserved glass of wine after a long week, going to the movies, enjoying our routine Saturday morning breakfasts. You see, documenting life isn’t about one big event, it’s about all the stuff that happens in between. It’s about what brought you to that vacation. It’s about the comfort of routines. It’s about that latte you get when you need a pick-me-up. It’s about the people and places that bring you comfort and love and piece of mind every day.

I cannot wait to share all of the products, ideas, and blogs I go to for inspiration every day. And I hope you’ll join me and check back as I put this site together and introduce you to little projects that will help you celebrate the people and places you love and all of the moments in between.

Love where you live: these strawberries came from our garden!
Love where you live: these strawberries came from our garden!

xoxoxo,

julie.

Leave a Reply

